You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Rabbitohs winger Alex Johnston has been judged as the best first-year player at South Sydney in 2014, taking out the John Sattler Rookie of the Year award for his debut season.

Johnston started the season in the Holden Cup side, before quickly progressing through the NSW Cup competition to make his NRL debut in a round 8 blockbuster against the Broncos on ANZAC Day – scoring a try on debut.

In just 18 appearances, the Rabbitohs’ speedster became the Clubs’ top try-scorer with 21 to his name (eight more than any other Rabbitoh) for a personal first season haul of 84 points.

In a season of many highlights for the La Perouse product, Johnston managed a hat-trick of four-pointers against the Newcastle Knights in round 21 in Cairns, before having the honour of becoming the first Rabbitoh to score a try in a Grand Final in 43 years.

The South Sydney Junior averaged 104.4 metres per match with the ball in hand, made 35 tackle breaks, 21 line breaks, six offloads and two try-assists.

The Rookie of the Year award is named after one of the Rabbitohs most inspirational players of all time, the legendary John Sattler. Sattler captained the Rabbitohs to four premiership victories in five years from 1967 to 1971, including the famous 1970 Grand Final in which he played for 77 minutes of the game with a jaw broken in three places.

Alex was presented with the John Sattler Rookie of the Year award by the President of South Sydney Juniors, Keith McCraw, on behalf of John Sattler.

Congratulations to Alex on winning the 2013 John Sattler Rookie of the Year award.


Previous Winners:

2003 – Mark Minichiello

2004 – Joe Williams

2005 – Manase Manuokafoa and Yileen Gordon

2006 – Germaine Paulson

2007 – Issac Luke

2008 – Chris Sandow

2009 – David Tyrrell

2010 – Dylan Farrell

2011 – Nathan Peats

2012 – Adam Reynolds

2013 – Dylan Walker

Greg Inglis Best Try

Issac Luke Best Hit

Jack Gosiewski takes NYC Players’ Player

Sam Burgess Named the Roy Asotasi Members’ Choice Player of the Year, Proudly Presented by Tooheys New

Sam Burgess Collects The Burrow Appreciation Award for 2014

Alex Johnston Wins the John Sattler Rookie of the Year Award for Season 2014

Sam Burgess Wins the Bob McCarthy Clubman of the Year Award for 2014

Sam Burgess Wins the Jack Rayner Players’ Player Award for Season 2014

Sam Burgess Named George Piggins Medallist for Best & Fairest

Acknowledgement of Country

South Sydney Rabbitohs respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Platinum and Associate Partners