You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The pool draw for the 2015 Dick Smith Auckland Nines was drawn today, with the Rabbitohs set to take on fellow top-eight teams the Penrith Panthers, Melbourne Storm and reigning Dick Smith NRL Auckland Nines champions, the North Queensland Cowboys in next year’s tournament – played between January 31 and Feburary 1st.

The team pools were drawn today by NRL, Jillaroo and Kiwi Fern players including Trent Merrin, Nathan Peats, Maddie Studdon and Sarina Fiso along with Dick Smith Electronics CEO, Mr Nick Abboud.

The NRL also announced that the current women’s Rugby League World Champions, the Jillaroos will play three nine-per-side matches against New Zealand’s Kiwi Ferns at the 2015 event. 

The matches will be televised live on Sky Television during the Nines broadcast.

“The spirit of the Auckland Nines is to create an event that we can develop and grow and the decision to include the women’s teams was the next natural step,” NRL Football Operations Manager Nathan McGuirk said.

“Their inclusion creates more games and provides longer breaks for all teams participating as well as showcasing some of the best female players in the world.”

Lovers of Auckland from around the world were given the unique opportunity to play a part in the 2015 tournament by choosing names for each of the four pools, with the most popular choices being made the pool names.

The public’s choices showcase the diversity of the Auckland region’s most iconic visitor destinations.

The public’s choices were:

-           Rangitoto - the Island’s famed volcanic cone

-           Waiheke – the home of the nation’s wineries

-           Piha – which represents a rugged West Coast beach

-           Hunua Ranges – one of the nation’s most famous bush areas


Rangitoto Pool: Eels, Sea-Eagles, Knights, Dragons
Waiheke Pool: Storm, Cowboys, Panthers, Rabbitohs
Piha Pool: Roosters, Broncos, Bulldogs, Sharks
Hunau Ranges Pool: Tigers, Warriors, Raiders, Titans

Dick Smith Electronics CEO, Mr Nick Abboud, said the company had no hesitation in sponsoring the tournament for the second year running.

“After such a successful inaugural year and a sell-out stadium of 90,000, we are anticipating the 2015 tournament to exceed expectations once again,” Mr Abboud said

“We know Auckland will put on a spectacular show and provide great atmosphere, not just in the stadium, but across the entire city.”

All 16 NRL teams will enter the tournament which carries prize money of more than $AU2.4 million.

The teams, which have nine players, are split into the four pools and play nine minute halves.

The top two teams from each group advance to the knockout stage of the tournament before the two top teams play in the final. 

Tickets will go on sale to the general public from October 9.


Click here to see the full tournament draw.
Acknowledgement of Country

South Sydney Rabbitohs respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Platinum and Associate Partners