You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Rabbitohs five-eighth John Sutton will return to the Rabbitohs for this Saturday night's clash with the Newcastle Knights at ANZ Stadium, having missed out on a spot in the New South Wales Blues squad with Coach Laurie Daley announcing that the Bulldogs' Josh Reynolds will replace Kurt Gidley for Game One of the State of Origin Series.

Both Sutton and the Bulldogs' Josh Reynolds were brought into the squad yesterday (Wednesday) with Daley deciding that Reynolds was the man to fill the void on the Blues' bench.

South Sydney Members and supporters will have Rabbitohs Greg Inglis, Ben Te'o and Chris McQueen to watch next Wednesday night at the Rabbitohs' home ground of ANZ Stadium.

Sutton will take his place alongside halves partner Adam Reynolds against the Knights at 7:30pm at ANZ Stadium.

* Please note: due to an error by the NSWRL, the Rabbitohs website posted a story saying that John Sutton had been selected in the team. We were following information distributed by the NSWRL, which turned out to be incorrect. We apologise for any confusion this has caused to Rabbitohs Members and supporters.

The NSWRL has also apologised for initially posting the incorrect information in the following media release:

"The NSWRL would like to apologise for a miscommunication that incorrectly named John Sutton as the 17th man for the NSW VB Blues.

"Members of the media team read news reports that John had been selected and, with the need to be timely on social media, tweeted the incorrect information.

"Once again, we would like to apologise to John and his family, NSW VB Blues fans, and South Sydney fans for our error."

To get behind John Sutton and the rest of the Rabbitohs team against the Knights this Saturday night, pre-purchase your tickets and save money by clicking here.

The Queensland State of Origin side for game one is:

1) Billy Slater (Storm)

2) Darius Boyd (Knights

3) Greg Inglis (Rabbitohs)

4) Justin Hodges (Broncos)

5) Brent Tate (Cowboys)

6) Johnathan Thurston (Cowboys)

7) Cooper Cronk (Storm)

8) Matt Scott (Cowboys)

9) Cameron Smith (c) (Storm)

10) David Shillington (Raiders)

11) Nate Myles (Titans)

12) Sam Thaiday (Broncos)

13) Ashley Harrison (Titans)


14) Corey Parker (Broncos)

15) Matt Gillett (Broncos)

16) Ben Te'o (Rabbitohs)

17) Chris McQueen (Rabbitohs)

18th man - Daly Cherry-Evans (Sea Eagles)

19th man - Josh Papalii (Raiders)

Coach - Mal Meninga

The NSW Blues team is:

1) Jarryd Hayne (Eels)

2) Brett Morris (Dragons)

3) Michael Jennings (Roosters)

4) Josh Morris (Bulldogs)

5) Blake Ferguson (Raiders)

6) James Maloney (Roosters)

7) Mitchell Pearce (Roosters)

8) Paul Gallen (c) (Sharks)

9) Robbie Farah (vc) (Tigers)

10) James Tamou (Cowboys)

11) Ryan Hoffman (Storm)

12) Luke Lewis (Sharks)

13) Greg Bird (Titans)


14) Andrew Fifita (Sharks)

15) Trent Merrin (Dragons)

16) Anthony Watmough (Sea Eagles)

17) Josh Reynolds (Bulldogs)

Coach Laurie Daley
Acknowledgement of Country

South Sydney Rabbitohs respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Major Partner

Premier Partners

Platinum and Associate Partners