Rabbitohs KARI Wellbeing Program

In 2017, Souths Cares launched a new Wellbeing Program in partnership with the organisation KARI; Australia’s largest Aboriginal foster care agency. The Rabbitohs KARI Wellbeing Program involves interactive workshops delivered by Souths Cares staff and ambassadors which are aligned with the National Curriculum for students in grades 3-6.

Participating schools have the option to choose from a number of workshops, depending on their wellbeing priority areas. Topic areas covered include:

  1. Tackle Bullying- Providing students with the knowledge and skills to address bullying in their schools.  
  2. Cyber Bullying- Helping students stay safe when using the internet and social media, as well as providing practical tools to respond appropriately if they are bullied online.
  3. Get Moving- Emphasizes the importance of physical activity and practical ways students can increase their daily exercise, whilst also promoting inclusion, respect and teamwork.
  4. Nutrition- Teaches students about healthy nutrition, how to make healthy choices in relation to their food selection and the impact diet has on their health.

In 2017, the Rabbitohs KARI Wellbeing Program reached over 7,300 students and will continue to grow in 2018. The following primary schools have participated in the program to date:

Matraville Soldiers Settlements PS  South Coogee PS  Bringelly PS 
Our Lady of Mount Carmel PS St Marys St Joseph PS Crown Street PS
Matraville PS Chifley PS Redfern Jarjum College 
Pagewood PS Eastlakes PS Gardeners Road PS
Banksmeadow PS Mascot PS Plunkett Street PS
La Perouse PS Darlington PS Camdenville PS
St Andrews PS Botany PS Ferncourt PS
Neutral Bay PS Our Lady of the Rosary PS Tempe PS
Homebush PS Petersham PS Our Lady of the Annunciation 
St Marys Erskineville PS Rainbow Street PS Malabar PS
Maroubra Bay PS St Brigids Catholic PS Kings Langley PS
Alexandria Park PS Prouille Wahronga PS Erskineville PS
St Michaels PS Bourke Street PS Brooklyn PS
St Bernards PS Cowan PS