Skip to main content
Main content

South Sydney Dream Team


The South Sydney Rabbitohs announced the greatest club side in Rugby League history, the South Sydney Dream Team, at a gala dinner held on 29 July 2004 at the Westin Hotel in Sydney.

17 players were selected in position as well as a coach to represent the South Sydney Football Club from 1908 through to 2004. The team was selected a group of Rugby League experts, historians and by Rabbitohs fans through a public vote.

The South Sydney Dream Team is:

Fullback               Clive Churchill

Winger                 Harold Horder

Centre                  Herb Gilbert

Centre                  Paul Sait

Winger                 Ian Moir

Five-eighth          Jim Lisle

Halfback              Bob Grant

Lock                      Ron Coote

Second row         Bob McCarthy

Second row         George Treweek

Prop                      John O’Neill

Hooker                 Elwyn Walters

Prop                      John Sattler (c)

Reserve                Greg Hawick

Reserve                Ray Branighan

Reserve                Ian Roberts

Reserve                Les Cowie

Coach                   Jack Rayner

This team of absolute champion players spanning the history of the code of Rugby League in Australia have collectively played 2135 First Grade games for South Sydney, 158 games for New South Wales, three games for Queensland and 158 Tests for Australia.